Common Shrew

A friend bought this shrew down for me because their cat killed it. I decided to preserve it so you can see the whole shrew.

First I had to put it in a jar with methylated spirits for 6 months, this preserves it but you can’t see much because the liquid is purple, so I changed the liquid to vodka after 6 months.
You can see the wound on its side that the cat made, you can even see the shrews whiskers.

I have preserved a dead bat the same way and I will put pictures on in a while.

Common Shrew
Size body: 5.5-9cm, tail 3-6cm
Young: up to four litters of 6-7, April-August
Diet: worms, woodlice, spiders, beetles and other ground living invertebrates and seeds.

Leave a Reply

