Well Dressing In My Village

In Whitwell we have an old well that gets decorated once every year, this is called well dressing, it is a traditional Pagan celebration.They have different things on it every year.

This year one of the ladies who decorates it asked me if I had a drawing of the new pterosaur I had found which had been named after me, and was it ok for them to write about me for the well dressing. They copied my drawing using petals from flowers and put other dinosaurs on there as well. First they have to soak the wooden board, then the wet clay is put in and decorate it with flower petals and leaves.

In the photos you can see me standing by the board they decorated. My pterosaur is at the very top of the board, it all looks beautiful.

Leave a Reply

