Oyster Shell Fossil

We went down Whale Chine on the Isle of Wight, it was very steep. We saw some Raven’s flying about and I found some of their feathers, they are the first ones I have in my collection of other feathers.
We could only get down to the stream at the bottom of Whale Chine because a big part of the cliff had fallen down and blocked the way down to the beach. Some people had climbed over it, but I didn’t want to, as it looked too scary. So we stayed at the stream and looked around there, I found a fossilized oyster shell half buried in the mud.

When we got back home I put the oyster shell in some water to soften the mud. I did this because the fossil was already wet, but if your fossil is dry then I would have wrapped it in a damp cloth then over a few days added more and more water, because sometimes if you get it wet too quickly your fossil can crack or split.
I soaked my oyster shell for a few days then cleaned off the mud with a dentist pick.

My oyster shell is 10cm long.
Name: Gryphea
Meaning: Grabber
Grouping: Mollusc, Bivalve
Common Name: Oyster, Devils toenails
Fossil size: Lengths can be 7-10cm
Habitat: Sea floor
Life span: late Triassic to late Jurassic, 220-140 million years ago.

Leave a Reply

